IFFR unveils 2023 line-up

2022-12-19 00:00:00

Festival director Vanja Kaludjercic unveiled the full line-up for the 2023 IFFR, taking place from 25 January-5 February, its first edition in its standard late-January slot since the pandemic hit. With more than 400 feature, mid-length and short films slated to premiere or take part in the retrospective sections, she hailed the fact that “after two enforced online editions, IFFR 2023 will mark our full return to cinemas and to an in-person event all across the city”.

The opening-night film, Munch, a biopic of the iconic Norwegian artist by Henrik Martin Dahlsbakken, will screen out of competition. Backed by Nordic streamer Viaplay, its experimental approach will see four actors – Alfred Ekker StrandeMattis Herman NyquistOla G Furuseth and Anne Krigsvoll – depicting the painter throughout his life.

This year, the Tiger Competition, the festival’s platform for emerging film talent, will showcase 16 titles from a vast national spread, including Letzter Abend by Lukas NathrathNumb by Amir Toodehroosta and Notas sobre un verano by Diego Llorente. The jury, composed of president Lav DiazSabrina BaracettiAnisia UzeymanChristine Vachon and Alonso Díaz de la Vega, will grant three prizes: the Tiger Award, worth €40,000, and two Special Jury Awards.

The Big Screen Competition, “bridging the gap between popular, classic and arthouse cinema”, will have its winner selected by an audience jury. The victor will receive a guaranteed theatrical release in the Netherlands, followed by a TV broadcast by VPRO and NPO. “For us, popular and avant-garde are not entirely contradictory ideas,” Kaludjercic concluded.

The two feature competition line-ups are as follows:

Tiger Competition

100 årstider - Giovanni Bucchieri (Sweden)
Gagaland - Teng Yuhan (China)
Geology of Separation - Yosr Gasmi, Mauro Mazzocchi (Tunisia/Italy/France)
Indivision - Leïla Kilani (Morocco/France)
Letzter Abend - Lukas Nathrath (Germany
Mannvirki - Gústav Geir Bollason (Iceland/France)
Munnel - Visakesa Chandrasekraram (Sri Lanka)
New Strains - Artemis Shaw/Prashanth Kamalakanthan (USA)
Notas sobre un verano - Diego Llorente (Spain)
Numb - Amir Toodehroosta (Iran)
Nummer achittien - Guido van der Werve (Netherlands)
La Palisiada - Philip Sotnychenko (Ukraine)
Playland - Georden West (USA)
Le spectre de Boko Haram - Cyrielle Raingou (Cameroon/France)
Thiiird - Karim Kassem (Lebanon)
three sparks - Naomi Uman (Albania/Mexico)

Big Screen Competition

Avant l’effondrement - Alice Zeniter/Benoît Volnais (France)
Before the Buzzards Arrive - Jonás N Diaz (Mexico)
Copenhagen Does Not Exist - Martin Skovbjerg (Denmark)
Drawing Lots - Zaza Khalvashi/Tamta Khalvashi (Georgia)
Endless Borders - Abbas Amini (Czech Republic/Germany/Iran)
Le formiche di Mida - Edgar Honetschläger (Austria/Italy)
Four Little Adults - Selma Vilhunen (Finland)
La Hembrita - Laura Amelia Guzmán Conde (Dominican Republic)
Joram - Devashish Makhija (India)
Luka - Jessica Woodworth (Belgium/Italy/Netherlands/Bulgaria/Armenia)
My Little Nighttime Secret - Natalya Meshchaninova (Russia)
Não Sou Nada - Edgar Pêra (Portugal)
Okiku and the World and the World - Sakamoto Junji (Japan)
One Win - Shin Yeon-Shick (South Korea)
La Sudestada - Daniel Casabé/Edgardo Dieleke (Argentina)
Voyages en Italie - Sophie Letourneur (France)

Source: Cineuropa 


Related News

With the support of the Eurimages Fund of the Council of Europe

Video Trailer

Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player

Deadline for Festivals
Festivals this month