Close, Holy Spider and Triangle of Sadness lead the nominations for the European Film Awards

2022-11-09 00:00:00

The European Film Academy has revealed the nominees in the main categories of the 35th European Film Awards, which will take place on 10 December in Reykjavík. For the first time, the Academy has announced the nominations in a video presenting all nominated productions and protagonists. 

With four nods each, this year’s frontrunners are:

Close, the sophomore feature by Belgian filmmaker Lukas Dhont

Holy Spider, the latest feature by Iranian-born, Denmark-based filmmaker Ali Abbasi,

Triangle of Sadness, the latest film by Swedish filmmaker Ruben Östlund.

All three of them are continuing a successful run after their bow in the Cannes Film Festival competition, where they all received awards – the Grand Jury Prize, the Best Actress Award and the Palme d’Or, respectively. The three of them are nominated in the European Film, European Director and European Screenwriter categories, and a lead actor from each film has managed to get into the acting categories (15-year-old Eden Dambrine, Cannes winner Zar Amir Ebrahimi and veteran Zlatko Burić).

Hot on their heels is Corsage, the feature by Austrian filmmaker Marie Kreutzer starring Vicky Krieps, winner of the Best Actress Award in Cannes` Un Certain Regard after its premiere. Both are nominated, in the European Director and European Actress categories, respectively, while the film is also vying for the European Film gong.

The European Film category is rounded off by this year’s Berlinale Golden Bear winner, Alcarràs, the second feature by Spanish filmmaker Carla Simón, which also received a nomination in the European Screenwriter category.

The rest of the nominations include welcome participants such as Poland’s Jerzy Skolimowski and France’s Alice Diop, both vying in the European Director category for the Cannes winner EO and the Venice winner Saint Omer, respectively, as well as stars Léa SeydouxPenélope Cruz and Pierfrancesco Favino rubbing shoulders with already-established young sensations such as Paul Mescal and Elliott Crosset Hove in the acting categories.

A diverse group of titles have been selected for the European Documentary category, including the latest film by Mark Cousins and the posthumous documentary by Mantas Kvedaravičius, who was killed in the Ukraine war. Lastly, as usual, the European Discovery category, presented in co-operation with FIPRESCI - International Federation of Film Critics, is shedding light on six interesting fiction debuts.

These nominees join the previously announced ones in the categories of European Comedy, European Animated Feature Film and European Short Film. Now the members of the European Film Academy will vote for the winners, who will be announced at the European Film Awards ceremony. The winners of the Excellence Awards in the categories of European Cinematography, European Editing, European Production Design, European Costume Design, European Make-up & Hair, European Original Score, European Sound and European Visual Effects will be determined by an eight-member jury consisting of representatives of the different arts and crafts, and will be announced on 23 November.

The nominations:

European Film
Alcarràs  - Carla Simón (Spain/Italy)
Close  - Lukas Dhont (Belgium/France/Netherlands)
Corsage  - Marie Kreutzer (Austria/Luxembourg/Germany/France)
Holy Spider  - Ali Abbasi (Denmark/Germany/Sweden/France)
Triangle of Sadness - Ruben Östlund (Sweden/Germany/France/UK)

European Documentary
A House Made of Splinters - Simon Lereng Wilmont (Denmark/Sweden/Finland/Ukraine)
Girl Gang - Susanne Regina Meures (Switzerland)
Mariupolis 2 - Mantas Kvedaravičius (Lithuania/France/Germany)
The Balcony Movie - Paweł Łoziński (Poland)
The March On Rome - Mark Cousins (Italy)

European Director
Lukas Dhont - Close
Marie Kreutzer - Corsage
Jerzy Skolimowski - EO (Poland/Italy)
Ali Abbasi - Holy Spider
Alice Diop - Saint Omer (France)
Ruben Östlund - Triangle of Sadness

European Actress
Vicky Krieps - Corsage
Zar Amir Ebrahimi - Holy Spider
Léa Seydoux - One Fine Morning  (France)
Penélope Cruz - Parallel Mothers  (Spain)
Meltem Kaptan - Rabiye Kurnaz vs. George W. Bush (Germany)

European Actor
Paul Mescal - Aftersun (UK/USA)
Eden Dambrine - Close
Elliott Crosset Hove - Godland (Denmark/Iceland/France/Sweden)
Pierfrancesco Favino – Nostalgia  (Italy/France)
Zlatko Burić - Triangle of Sadness

European Screenwriter
Carla Simón & Arnau Vilaró - Alcarràs
Kenneth Branagh - Belfast (UK)
Lukas Dhont & Angelo Tijssens - Close
Ali Abbasi & Afshin Kamran Bahrami - Holy Spider
Ruben Östlund - Triangle of Sadness

European Discovery – Prix FIPRESCI
107 Mothers  - Peter Kerekes (Slovakia/Czech Republic/Ukraine)
Love According To Dalva  - Emmanuelle Nicot (Belgium/France)
Other People - Aleksandra Terpińska (Poland/France)
Pamfir - Dmytro Sukholytkyy-Sobchuk (Ukraine/France/Poland/Germany/Chile)
Small Body  - Laura Samani (Italy/Slovenia/France)
Sonne - Kurdwin Ayub (Austria)

Source: Cineuropa 


Related News

With the support of the Eurimages Fund of the Council of Europe

Video Trailer

Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player

Deadline for Festivals
Festivals this month