Berlin Film Festival Announces International Jury for 71st Edition

2021-02-02 00:00:00

The Berlin International Film Festival unveiled the International Jury for its 71st edition. In 2021, the directors of six previous Golden-Bear-winning films will determine the awards for the Competition of the 71st Berlinale. There will not be a President of the Jury this year.

The jury will watch the films in Berlin on the big screen. Their decisions will be announced during the Industry Event on March 5.

The Award Ceremony will take place in front of a live audience as part of the Berlinale Summer Special (June 9–20, 2021).

The members of the international jury are: Iranian director Mohammad Rasoulof, Israeli director Nadav Lapid, Romania director Adina Pintilie, Hungary director Ildikó Enyedi, Italian director Gianfranco Rosi and Bosnian director Jasmila Žbanić.

Rasoulof won the Golden Bear for “There Is No Evil” in 2020; Lapid for “Synonyms” in 2019; Pintilie for “Touch Me Not” in 2018; Enyedi for “On Body and Soul” in 2017; Rosi for “Fire at Sea” in 2016; and Žbanić for “Grbavica” in 2006.

Due to the pandemic, the festival will take place in two stages this year. The European Film Market will run in a virtual format from March 1-5. From June 9-20, the festival will hold physical screenings for the public, with the filmmakers attending.

Juries will decide on the prizes from the Competition, Berlinale Shorts, Encounters and Generation sections, and announce the award-winners during EFM. The award ceremony will take place in front of an audience in June.


Tags: Berlinale, jury

Related News

With the support of the Eurimages Fund of the Council of Europe

Video Trailer

Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player

Deadline for Festivals
Festivals this month