Cypriot co-production wins Panorama Audience Award

2018-02-28 09:22:55

The public has cast its votes: the 20th Panorama Audience Awards went to "Profile" by Timur Bekmambetov for best fiction film and "The Silence of Others" by Almudena Carracedo and Robert Bahar for best documentary. The awards are presented by the Berlinale Panorama section in collaboration with radioeins and rbb television (Berlin-Brandenburg Broadcasting). The prizes for the voting audience are provided courtesy of Mastercard.

"Profile" is a co-production between USA, United Kingdom, Cyprus and Russian Federation. In "Profile", a journalist investigating the recruitment of young women for ISIS falls under the spell of a Jihadist – a story entirely told on a computer screen. Director Timur Bekmambetov has previously been a guest of the Berlinale Special with his films "Night Watch" (2005) and "Day Watch" (2007). In the documentary "The Silence of Others", directors Almudena Carracedo and Robert Bahar tackle the issue of justice in Spain, after a 1977 amnesty law prohibited the prosecution of the regime’s perpetrators.

The Panorama Audience Award has been given since 1999. Since 2011, not only the best fiction film but also the best documentary films have received awards. During the festival, moviegoers are asked to rate the films shown in Panorama on voting cards after the screenings. In 2018 a total of 26,000 votes were cast and counted.

This year Panorama presented 47 feature-length films from 40 countries, of which 20 screened in the Panorama Dokumente series.

Panorama Audience Award Winner - Fiction Film 2018
USA / United Kingdom / Cyprus / Russian Federation
By Timur Bekmambetov

2nd place Panorama Audience Award - Fiction Film 2018
Germany / Austria 
By Wolfgang Fischer

3rd place Panorama Audience Award - Fiction Film 2018
Austria 2018
By Katharina Mueckstein

Panorama Audience Award Winner - Panorama Dokumente 2018
"The Silence of Others"
USA / Spain 
By Almudena Carracedo, Robert Bahar

2nd place Panorama Audience Award - Panorama Dokumente 2018
By Lutz Pehnert, Matthias Ehlert, Adama Ulrich

3rd place Panorama Audience Award - Panorama Dokumente 2018
"O processo" 
Brazil / Germany / Netherlands 
By Maria Augusta Ramos




Tags: Berlinale, winners

Related News

With the support of the Eurimages Fund of the Council of Europe

Video Trailer

Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player

Deadline for Festivals
Festivals this month